NEH banner

Funded Projects Query Form
One match

Grant number: FT-13408-77

Query elapsed time: 0.031 sec

Save this query
Export results to Excel


John T. O'Brien
Benedictine University (Lisle, IL 60532-0900)

Contemporary Black Fiction

To consider the fiction of contemporary Black writers: Cyrus Colter, Ernest J. Gaines, LeRoi Jones, William Melvin Kelly, Clarence Major, Ishmael Reed, John Wideman, John A. Williams, and Charles Wright. This will be the first work of criticism on contemporary fiction of Black writers that looks at their work in a conventional literary and critical manner.

Project fields:
American Literature

Summer Stipends

Research Programs

Total amounts:
$2,500 (approved)
$2,500 (awarded)

Grant period:
6/1/1977 – 8/31/1977