NEH logo
[Return to Query]

Products for Grant FA-36946-02

FA-36946-02
Science and Everyday Culture, 1500-1800: An Exploration of the Origins of Modernity
William Eamon, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces

Grant details: https://securegrants.neh.gov/publicquery/main.aspx?f=1&gn=FA-36946-02

The Professor of Secrets: Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy (Book)
Title: The Professor of Secrets: Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy
Author: William Eamon
Abstract: The Professor of Secrets is the story of Leonardo Fioravanti, a Renaissance healer whose “marvelous” cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and an enduring reputation as one of the age’s most colorful and combative figures. Despite his theatrical character, Fioravanti was a serious experimental scientist. A passionate alchemical adept and devoted to empirical natural history, he was fascinated by the New World discoveries and experimented on exotic plants from America. Two centuries later, his drugs were still part of the European pharmacopoeia. The rise of print culture enabled him to become the first medical celebrity and the focus of an alternative medical movement. A prolific writer, he used his popular books to advertise his new way of healing and to dramatize the daring surgical interventions that he accomplished as a military surgeon in the Holy Roman Emperor’s navy. He created the first mail order medical business and published glowing testimonials from patients. To an age in which TV doctors push newfangled drugs and fad diets, the life of Fioravanti are as relevant as ever.
Year: 2010
Primary URL: http://www.worldcat.org/title/professor-of-secrets-mystery-medicine-and-alchemy-in-renaissance-italy/oclc/462910798&referer=brief_results
Secondary URL: http://williameamon.com
Secondary URL Description: In the tradition of Galileo's Daughter and Brunelleschi's Dome, this exciting story illuminates the captivating world of the late Renaissance—in this case its plagues, remedies, and alchemy—through the life of Leonardo Fioravanti, a brilliant, remarkably forward-thinking, and utterly unconventional doctor. Fioravanti's marvelous cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and a reputation as one of the age's most colorful, combative figures. Written by Pulitzer-prize nominated historian William Eamon, The Professor of Secrets entices readers into a dangerous scientific underworld of sorcerers and surgeons. Meticulously researched and engagingly written, this gripping narrative is perfect for readers interested in Renaissance history, the development of science, and historical thrillers.
Publisher: National Geographic
Type: Single author monograph
ISBN: 9781426206504

Astrology and Society (Book Section)
Title: Astrology and Society
Author: William Eamon
Editor: Brendan Dooley
Abstract: A book chapter on astrology and popular culture, 1500-1700
Year: 2014
Publisher: Brill
Book Title: A Companion to Astrology in the Renaissance

The Professor of Secrets: Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy (Book)
Title: The Professor of Secrets: Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy
Author: Eamon, William
Year: 2010
Primary URL: http://www.worldcat.org/isbn//9781426206504
Primary URL Description: WorldCat entry
Publisher: National Geographic
Type: Single author monograph
ISBN: 9781426206504


Permalink: https://securegrants.neh.gov/publicquery/products.aspx?gn=FA-36946-02